About Us


Beginning in 1987, by founder Joanne Huggins, the West Australian Women's Football League has created a legacy in WA football as it provided the first fully structured female only football league in Perth.



Starting with just four teams in it's inaugural season, the WAWFL spent 32 years being run by volunteers who loved the game, and wanted female footballers around Perth to play in the best possible competition.



By 2018, nine clubs were competing in the WAWFL across League, Reserves and Rogers Cup divisions, each playing a home and away season followed by a finals campaign. 



The WAWFL League division hosted WA's most talented female football players catering for current and aspiring AFLW players to grow their skills, and strive to take their football to the next level.



In 2019, the WAWFL partnered with WA Football Commission (WAFC), and the WAFLW competion was born.



The WAFLW is now Western Australia's Women's state league competition, with their divisions consisting of WAFLW League (seniors), WAWFL Reserves (seniors) and Rogers Cup (15-17 years).



We are proud of the path female football has taken in WA, and continue to work closely with the WAFC to ensure female footballers are provided opportunities and the best possible environment for female footballers.



With a strong history through school competitions, female football and state talent programs, we thank every single volunteer, player and fan who has joined the WAWFL on it's journey from 1987 - 2018. 



We look forward to seeing WAFLW continue to lead the way for female football in WA.



Image: WA State Team, 1994