Subiaco Lions share Dhara Kerr Fairest and Best Tuesday, September 10, 2019 - 8:47 AM

Share |

Subiaco captain Hayley Miller and vice-captain Danika Pisconeri shared the honours in the inaugural WAFL Women’s Dhara Kerr Fairest and Best Award on Monday, September 9 at Optus Stadium with 13 votes each.

Miller polled votes in seven of the nine games she played, including one 3-vote game and four 2-vote games. Pisconeri, who had a great season in the ruck for the Lions, polled votes on six occasions including three best-on-ground performances.

Miller added to the Award she won outright in 2018 by continuing her strong form in the WAFLW State League competition in 2019. This is Pisconeri’s first Fairest and Best. East Fremantle’s Kimberley Bowey and Roxanne Roux came third and fourth respectively.

The Joanne Huggins Leading Goal Kicker Award was awarded to Tarnee Tester from Subiaco with 26 goals, and the Cath Boyce Rookie of the Year, presented by the West Coast Eagles, went to joint winners Jessica Low of Claremont and Subiaco's Lindal Rhode.

The Coach of the Year, presented by Fremantle Football Club, was taken out by Claremont WAFLW coach Andrew Di Loreto.

South Fremantle's Lauren Vecchio was awarded the Reserves Fairest and Best award. Claremont Tiger Ashlee Hardisty was awarded the Reserves Rising Star award that recognises the best first year player in the competition. Kira Phillips won the Reserves Leading Goal Scorer with 38 goals for the season.

The Rogers Cup Fairest and Best was won by Subiaco's Kia Buckley. West Perth new comer Amy Franklin won the Rogers Cup Rising Star Award, and Shani Garrod from Peel Thunder took out leading goal kicker with 25 goals to her name.

The Lynette Smith Volunteer of the Year was awarded to the very deserving Joanne Taylor from Swan Districts. Having held various roles within Swan Districts across many years as well as holding a role on the WAWFL Board Member, Jo is an asset to both the WAFLW and the WAWFL.

Also recognised on the evening was WAWFL President Carolyn Hills who was awarded an AFL Merit Award. Carolyn was presented the award by WA Football Commission CEO Gavin Taylor for her leadership, drive and partnership to ensure the transition from WAWFL to WAFLW was seamless and successful. The AFL Merit Award is recognition of a volunteer who has contributed significantly to Australian Football in a number of roles for a period of at least 10 years.

WAFLW, Reserves and Rogers Cup Grand Finals take place this Saturday at Mineral Resources Park, Lathlain.