2008-2017 Team of the Decade recognisedTuesday, October 3, 2017 - 9:16 AM

Share |

A host of current and former Mundella WAWFL stars were honoured as the 2008-2017 WAWFL Team of the Decade was announced at our annual presentation night.

The WAWFL Team of the Decade recognises players who have achieved outstanding success in the WAWFL. The third WAWFL Team of the Decade will recognise players between the years of 2008-2017 (inclusive).The WAWFL 2008 - 2017 Team of the Decade is:

Backs: Caitlyn Edwards, Fiona Boucher, Brooke Whyte
Half backs: Lauren Stammers, Hayley Miller, Tiah Haynes
Wings: Melissa Caulfied, Dana Hooker
Centres: Kiara Bowers, Jodie White (Ruck), Deanne Coates, Kara Donnellan
Half forwards: Renee Forth, Chelsea Randall, Emma Swanson
Forwards: Kirby Bentley, Sabrina Frederick-Traub, Shelley Matham
Interchange: Emma King, Nikki Harwood, Stephanie Walding, Leah Mascall, Kellie Gibson, Brianna Green

Vice Captains: Chelsea Randall, Kara Donnellan
Captain: Kiara Bowers
Coach: Martine Pearman

In order to be eligible for selection, players had to have played at least four seasons in the WAWFL between 2008-2017, and clubs from within the competition nominated players they deemed worthy.

WAWFL President Carolyn Hills congratulated the team and said all of them had made an enormous contribution to the success of female football in WA.

“The aim of the WAWFL Team of the Decade is to recognise the outstanding contribution the players have made to the competition and these players are all certainly worthy of the highest form of recognition,” said Carolyn.

“This team is full of players that have won a multitude of awards at WAWFL level and within their own clubs, and represented our State. As the game continues to evolve, speed and skills are now as important as ever, this team is highly talented, and positions should be held with pride.               

“These players, and the coach, have strived for greatness, won and lost games, and some have experienced the greatness of claiming premiership glory. They have dedicated themselves to the game, with their efforts contributing to a competition that is now a pathway onto AFLW football.”

Congratulations to those all made our latest Team of the Decade, you have etched your name into WAWFL history.

Pictured: Lauren Stammers, Hayley Miller, Brooke Whyte, Kiara Bowers, Dana Hooker, Jodie White, Deanne Coates, Jayne Frederick-Traub, Kara Donnellan, Stephanie Walding, Nikki Harwood, Martine Pearman