West Australian women honoured as Award finalistsFriday, September 8, 2017 - 9:02 PM

Share |
Written by WA Football Commission

THREE West Australian female football leaders have been named as finalists for the 2017 Football Woman of the Year Awards.

They include WAWFL President Carolyn Hills, WAWFL life member Charmaine Rogers for the Community Award, and West Australian Football Commission (WAFC) Female Football Coordinator Allana Dickie for the overall Football Woman of the Year Award.

WAFC CEO Gavin Taylor said to have three West Australians named among nine finalists was a great testament to female football leadership in WA and congratulated each of them on their achievement.

“All three of these women have played a significant role in the success of female football in our State and are highly deserving of the honour,” he said.

“Not only have we witnessed tremendous growth of approximately 40% in female participation numbers in WA over the past few years, but great results in talent development with 37 WA players recruited for the inaugural season of the AFL Women’s competition last year.

“Allana, Carolyn and Charmaine’s leadership is critical to ensuring this success can continue and that not only do we continue to increase player participation and AFLW Draft numbers, but also encourage more women to take on key leadership roles within football.”

The award winners will be announced by the Essendon Women’s Network (EWN), during AFL Grand Final week in Melbourne on Thursday, September 28.

Recent winners of the Football Woman of the Year Award include Daisy Pearce (2016), Jan Cooper (2015), Peta Searle (2014) and Michelle Cowan (2013).

The Football Woman of the Year Award

The Football Woman of the Year Award recognises a woman who has made a significant, positive and measurable impact to the advancement of women in the game of Australian Rules Football.

WA Finalist – Allana Dickie

Allana is the West Australian Football Commission’s Female Football Coordinator. She is an advocate, a leader, a promoter, an agent of change and above all a quality individual who makes a significant difference to football. Allana is also a key member of the WAFC Diversity committee that is leading an all-of-industry change to equality in football. Allana also plays and coaches and continues to drive for improvement in the female game. She is aspiring to be drafted by an AFLW club, but has the philosophy of ensuring that no matter what, all players continue to grow and develop to be the best possible version of themselves.  Allana inspires change and growth in others, and has developed several programs that are assisting to develop the next generation of ambassadors for the game. She actively promotes to females, the benefits of working in the industry and provides opportunities for many aspiring female sports administrators to gain an understanding of both her role and other roles in the football. Allana also positively recruits males to be a champion for change as well – an important strategic approach. This highlights Allana’s remarkable drive and energy to want to leave the game in a better place than what it was yesterday.

Community Award

The Community Award recognises the unsung heroes, those who work in a volunteer capacity whether it is at grass roots level at Auskick or local footy, or through their volunteer contributions to clubs at the highest level

WA Finalist – Carolyn Hills

Carolyn Hills has been on the WA Women’s Football League board since 2005, and has been President for more than seven years, making her the longest serving president in the history of the WAWFL. Carolyn’s commitment to the League has seen the expansion of the competition and an increase in professionalism. She has overseen the introduction of the player points system as a means of equalising the competition, and as a key strategy in retaining a greater number of female participants in the game. Carolyn is also a representative on the State Government’s GOAL (Get Onboard and Lead) program, which is aimed at increasing the number of women in leadership roles in the Sport and Recreation sector. As a key member of the Community Football Advisory Council, Carolyn also helps develop strong relationships with the other community leagues across Western Australia, and advocates for the benefit of community participation in Football. Carolyn is a passionate advocate for female football in every aspect of her life, and always makes time to strengthen relationships to ensure the best outcomes for female football in WA.

WA Finalist – Charmaine Rogers

Charmaine Rogers epitomises Community Football in Western Australia. She has been volunteering to support the progression of females in the sport since 1996, and has undertaken virtually every role there is. Charmaine has been the heartbeat of the Claremont Women’s Football Club since 1993, where she started as a player, and has also volunteered with the WA Women’s Football League for more than 21 years. Charmaine has supported female participation growth through her role with the WAWFL through some often tough and turbulent times, and she has represented herself and all females in the game to the highest regard. She has led By-Law and Constitution reviews, often working with passionate stakeholders, but has always kept what is in the best interests of the game, and the development of female football, front of mind. As a former WAWFL president and a Board member she has ensured the financial stability of the league, and developed strategies to ensure the future of female football in WA is secured. In 2001, Charmaine was made a life member of the WAWFL for services to the game and to the advancement of female sport in WA. Charmaine also has a Competition named in her honour ‘The Rogers Cup’ which is for 15 – 18-year-old talented players, and highlights again the esteem that Charmaine is held in across WA. There was no prouder person across Australia when the first ball was bounced for the first AFLW match. It is something she has dreamed about and worked towards for decades.