Celebrating 30 proud yearsTuesday, June 20, 2017 - 8:47 AM

Share |

Celebrating 30 proud years by Sandra Argese

Footy clubs can achieve a lot in 30 years. Of course, East Fremantle Women’s Football Club certainly no exception.

Formed in 1988 as the Melville Women’s Football Club, it founded its rich reputation with back-to-back WAWFL premierships in 1990 and 1991, adding another two to the tally in 2002 and 2007.  Transitioning 20 years later into the East Fremantle Sharks in 2008, the club added two more premiership trophies to the cabinet in 2009 and 2011.

Celebrating a rich history decorated with a diverse pool of playing talent, coaching staff and club personnel, the club added the perfect dose of nostalgia to its Sunday afternoon schedule.

The curtain raiser to the league match saw the Sharks ‘Oldies’ take on the ‘Masters WA’ side in a friendly ‘Old Girls’ reunion game consisting of two quarters (one per half).

From the very first bounce, WA were in control by taking the lead early on. Julie Nichols was having none of it towards the end of the first half, winding back the clock to wheel around multiple players and score her first major to even up proceedings at 2 goals apiece at the main break.

The second half saw WA dominate the inside 50 count, but the Sharks’ defence was ruthless and let barely anything past them. Eventually paying off, East Fremantle slotted the final two majors of the game to run away 21 point winners.

Celebrating the victory by singing the team song loud and proud, the win was the perfect nod to the decorated football club’s esteemed history.

Lynette Smith, Wendy Booth, Jacqui Edwards, Julie Nichols, Belinda Bentley, Lyn Kay, Tracey Anderson, Ange Williamson, Tammy Licence, Kareen Blachford, Melissa Cook, Shelley Matcham, Laef Howell, Tamika Hansen, Nikki Harwood.
Chelsea Stevenson, Kristen Teale, Desiree Giles, Christine Green, Linlee Taylor, Ali Lockley, Vanessa Chrisp, Pauline Gibbs, Laura Osmetti, Suzi Croker, Zoey Narrier, Sharon Duncan, Louise Knitter, Toni Darmms, Tess Burton.

WA MASTERS: 2.0 (12)