Allomes and Michell appointed Life Members

Friday, November 13, 2020 - 9:10 AM

The West Australian Women’s Football League is delighted to announce that in 2020, WAWFL Life Membership has been awarded to Sally Allomes and Sarah Michell.

Induction as a WAWFL Life Member is regarded as the League’s highest level of recognition and is awarded to individuals that have rendered exceptional levels of contribution to our game over continuous time.

WAWFL President Carolyn Hills extended her congratulations to Read More [+]

Hills re-elected as President

Friday, November 13, 2020 - 9:06 AM

Existing WAWFL President Carolyn Hills has been re-elected to the board of the West Australian Women's Football League during the 2020 Annual General Meeting held at the WA Football Commission on November 10.

Serving on the WAWFL board for thirteen years already, and having been President for the past ten, Hills enters a new three year term from 2021 – 2023.

WAWFL Vice President Sally Allomes congratulated Carolyn on her appointment for another term.

“It is Read More [+]

Janet Seth named Volunteer of the Year

Saturday, October 10, 2020 - 4:48 PM

With more than a decade of voluntary service to football, East Fremantle's Janet Seth has been recognised as the 2020 recipient of the Lynette Smith Volunteer of the Year Award.

Janet is an extremely worthy winner of this award, having given over twelve years to female football in WA through the East Fremantle Women’s Football Club (EFWFC), East Fremantle Football Club, the WA Women’s Football League and WA female football talent programs and Read More [+]

Pisconeri claims back-to-back Dhara Kerr

Saturday, October 10, 2020 - 4:48 PM

Danika Pisconeri from Subiaco Football Club was presented with the 2020 Dhara Kerr Fairest and Best at the vote count at Crown Ballroom on Tuesday September 29, with a total of 9 votes.

Pisconeri finished the count two votes ahead of Subiaco's Abbey Dowrick  with 7 votes and Chloe Wrigley (Peel Thunder) on 6 votes.

Going back-to-back, having won the award jointly with fellow team mate Hayley Miller in 2019, Pisconeri earnt three votes in each of the opening three matches of Read More [+]

Peel crowned Optus WAFLW Premiers

Monday, September 21, 2020 - 9:52 AM

Peel Thunder have completed a fairytale season to run out 15-point winners over Subiaco in the Optus WAFLW Grand Final. 

A dominant second term set up the victory, with Peel going from last to Premiers in one-season under new coach Steve Markham.

Subiaco couldn’t match the speed of a young and vibrant Peel side throughout the contest, with the wind playing havoc early in proceedings.  

Fifteen-year-old Ella Roberts impressed once again in the decider, Read More [+]

Notice of 2020 AGM

Thursday, September 17, 2020 - 10:02 AM

The 2020 WAWFL Annual General Meeting will be held on Tuesday 10 November 2020 (Venue: WAFC Tuart Hill).

Please note that attendance at the AGM is compulsory for all WAWFL Clubs.

There are three (3) Board positions to be elected at this years AGM:

  • Board Member - President - 3 year term 
  • Board Member - Secretary - 1 year term 
  • Board Member - General - 3 year term 

Anyone wishing to nominate for the above positions must complete and return the Nomination Form and Read More [+]

Optus WAFLW Grand Final Day – Around the Ground

Thursday, September 17, 2020 - 9:59 AM

The Optus WAFLW Grand Final will be played between Subiaco and Peel Thunder at 2.40pm this Saturday, September 19 at Provident Financial Oval. 

Key Event Info
•    Tickets available at the gate; no pre-purchased required
•    Adults $5
•    Kids go free
•    Gates open at 8.00am
9.45am – Simply Energy Rogers Cup Grand Final – South Fremantle v Peel Thunder 
12.00pm – Reserves Grand Final – East Fremantle Read More [+]

Rogers inducted as WAFC Life Member

Wednesday, December 11, 2019 - 12:22 PM

History continues to be made as the West Australian Football Commission welcomes its first Life Member through contribution to female football, Charmaine Rogers.

Being inducted at an official function on Monday December 9, Rogers was recognised for her distinguished service to WA Football. 

Induction to the WAFC Life Members’ Association is regarded as the WAFC’s highest level of recognition, distinct Read More [+]

Five appointed to board at AGM

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 - 12:29 PM

Four existing members, and one new member have been elected to the West Australian Women's Football League Board during the 2019 Annual General Meeting held at Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries on November 12.

Existing Vice President Sally Allomes was elected back into the role, entering a new three year term from 2019 - 2022.

Joining Sally in three year terms as General Members are returning members Shirley Elliot, Skye Miller and Joanne Taylor.

Read More [+]

Notice of 2019 AGM

Tuesday, October 8, 2019 - 8:23 PM

The 2019 WAWFL Annual General Meeting will be held on Tuesday 12 November, 6:30-7:30pm. 

Please note that attendance at the AGM is compulsory for all WAWFL Clubs.

There are six (6) Board positions to be elected at this years AGM:

Reserves: Tigers rally for premiership glory

Monday, September 16, 2019 - 8:35 AM

Written by Sandra Argese.

This year’s minor premiers have gone one step above finishing top of the ladder, winning the 2019 WAFLW Reserves Grand Final by 35 points.

Keeping South Fremantle scoreless for the entire second half, Claremont were too strong for their opponents for most of the afternoon.

Going inside 50 a staggering 15 more times than South Fremantle in the opening term, Claremont’s dominance was immediately on show – but Read More [+]

Rogers Cup: Peel Thunder claim Premiership honours

Monday, September 16, 2019 - 8:30 AM

Written by Sandra Argese.

Dominant first and final quarter performances from Peel Thunder has seen the club take home Rogers Cup premiership honours in 2019.

Shani Garrod opened proceedings by soccering the ball off the side of her boot to notch up the first major of the game. Peel’s momentum continued, with Savannah Ahearn’s strong chest mark and goal earning the Thunder a handy two goal lead at the first break.

South Read More [+]

Subiaco Lions share Dhara Kerr Fairest and Best

Tuesday, September 10, 2019 - 8:47 AM

Subiaco captain Hayley Miller and vice-captain Danika Pisconeri shared the honours in the inaugural WAFL Women’s Dhara Kerr Fairest and Best Award on Monday, September 9 at Optus Stadium with 13 votes each.

Miller polled votes in seven of the nine games she played, including one 3-vote game and four 2-vote games. Pisconeri, who had a great season in the ruck for the Lions, polled votes on six occasions including three best-on-ground performances.

Miller added Read More [+]

Finals bound Lions overpower fighting Swans

Wednesday, August 14, 2019 - 11:02 AM

Written by Sandra Argese, 13 August 2019

Three goalless quarters saw Swan Districts go down to a surging Subiaco Lions outfit by 28 points on Sunday afternoon.

From the get go, the Sunday morning Round 16 Rogers Cup match up at Leederville Oval saw the Lions make their charge. 

Opening proceedings with two unanswered goals and several more scoring opportunities in the opening term, the home side found themselves up 15 points at Read More [+]

Tigers claw Thunder

Tuesday, August 6, 2019 - 3:03 PM

Written by Sandra Argese, 4 August 2019

Claremont has survived a scare from a hungry Peel Thunder outfit to run out 11 point winners on Sunday afternoon.

Cloudy conditions at Claremont Oval set the scene for the seesaw-like affair. The tone of the afternoon was set by several lead changes, with neither side more dominant than their opponent for the opening three quarters. 

But such was the sheer Read More [+]